Profile of the Mayor

The Mayor of Nala Local Municipality is Cllr. Mogoje Theko. He was born and raised in Bothaville. He started his early career as a convoy driver and also worked at a local company, LM. During the mid-seventies, he got involved in the taxi industry and following the 1976 uprisings, he joined Umkhonto we Sizwe (MK).

During the period 1985 to 1988, he was a councillor of the then Bothaville Council which relocated the old Kgotsong to the new site which is current Nala. After 1988, he again concentrated on his business interests. Mayor Theko was elected the chairperson of Majakathata/Mahanapuso Long Distance Transport Association, both at local and provincial level.

He was also elected into the Executive Committee of SANTACO, Free State during that time he served as the Chairperson of Disciplinary Committee. He was elected as the Provincial Treasurer of SANTACO during 2008 and held the position until his election to the position of Mayor in 2011. The Mayor has served as a chairperson of the School Governing Bodies (SGBs) of the Bothaville Public School and the Tjantjello Public School. He is also a deacon in the Uniting Presbyterian Church. He became a councillor in the Nala Local Municipality in 2000 and was re-elected to the Council following the 2006 and 2011 local government elections.